Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert

Booked for Death

Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert (A Booklover’s B&B Mystery #1)
English | 2020| Mystery/Thriller | ePUB | 2.9 MB

From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover’s B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder-and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader’s paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It’s the perfect literary retreat-until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.

The victim’s daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt’s name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer’s death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer-or end up writing her own final chapter.

But Lincoln Delamont had obviously not heard my instructions, or had decided to deliberately flout them. I tapped my foot against the pine plank floor. “I’m sure you’re fascinated by my great-aunt’s collection, but I must ask you to get down. As I mentioned when you arrived last night, I prefer that guests not use that ladder.” I twitched my lips into what I hoped was a pleasant smile. “Insurance liability being what it is, it just isn’t safe, for you as well as for my pocketbook.”

Lincoln climbed down to one of the bottom rungs before leaping to the floor. As he turned to face me, his sharp nose twitched like the pointed muzzle of a fox. “I assure you, Ms. Reed, I have more than a passing acquaintance with library ladders. Many of which are much less stable than this one.”

“I’m sure, but those aren’t located in my bed-and-breakfast.” I strolled over to the desk and picked up a leather-bound volume. “You do have a good eye,” I said, examining the title page. “A first edition Romance of King Arthur illustrated and signed by Arthur Rackham is quite rare, as I suppose you know. You wouldn’t be searching for items to buy, would you?”

“Not exactly.” Lincoln dusted off his hands. “But I am very interested in Isabella Harrington’s library. Particularly in how she acquired it.”

https://userupload.net/ndpg3ihhensf

https://katfile.com/pc86cj6si6bm

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: