Deceive Me by Karen Cole


Deceive Me

Deceive Me by Karen Cole
English | 2019 | Mystery/Thriller | ePUB | 479 Kb

Deceive Me : A PERFECT FAMILY OR A PERFECT LIE?

When Jo’s teenage daughter goes missing, she feels like the world is collapsing around her. Has Grace been taken or have recent tensions between mother and daughter driven her away?

The police believe Grace is just an angry teenager, punishing her parents by hiding out at a friend’s house, but Jo is terrified that her daughter is in danger. With so little urgency from the police, Jo decides to take matters into her own hands.

But as Jo gets closer to discovering what has happened to Grace, it looks like her family’s deepest, darkest secret is about to be uncovered . . . and the devastating fallout could destroy everything Jo holds dear.

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Louise Jensen, Rachel Abbott and CL Taylor.

“‘Stay here. Don’t move,’ I say to Jack. ‘I’m going to find your sister.’

I climb the stairs and check the toilets. Empty. I peer into the classrooms on the first floor. Most of them are already locked. In the maths department I bump into Grace’s maths teacher – a young man called Mr Nicholaou with a thick Greek accent and a close-cropped beard.

He gives me an uncertain nod as if he vaguely recognises me but isn’t sure who I am. ‘Can I help you?’ he asks.

‘Have you seen Grace?’ I ask. ‘Grace Appleton?’

‘Er . . . no.’ He scratches his head. ‘She wasn’t in her maths lesson today. I assumed she was off ill. Have you tried the canteen?’

I head to the main office, feeling panic mounting, but trying not to surrender to it. I won’t give Grace that satisfaction.

The office is air-conditioned and almost cold compared to the temperature outside. The secretary, a plump, middle-aged woman with dyed black hair and a sour expression, is even wearing a cardigan. As I enter, she drags her eyes upwards as if just that physical act was an effort.

‘Can I help you?’ she says reluctantly.

‘Yes, I’m trying to find my daughter, Grace Appleton. Can you confirm that she was in school today?’

She taps listlessly at the computer.

‘She wasn’t marked in the register,’ she says.”

https://4downfiles.org/b438t3rycw8e

https://userscloud.com/9bjhosryo9a0


Like it? Share with your friends!

0

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
0
hate
confused confused
0
confused
fail fail
0
fail
fun fun
0
fun
geeky geeky
0
geeky
love love
0
love
lol lol
0
lol
omg omg
0
omg
win win
0
win
Seth

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *